Tablets
Best Tablet for Reading in 2026: Books, PDFs and Comics
The best reading tablet depends on what you read. We compared the current options on text sharpness, glare, weight and price, and checked when an E Ink tablet or a plain Kindle is the smarter buy.
As an Amazon Associate, Before You Cart earns from qualifying purchases. Read our affiliate disclosure.
The short answer
- Best for books, PDFs and comics: Alexa Tablet 12 Pro with Nanomatte (launched at $549.99, Oct 2026). Big 3:2 page, anti-glare screen and a dedicated Kindle mode.
- Best for one-handed reading: iPad mini. The sharpest text here (326 PPI) at just 293 g.
- Best value: Alexa Tablet 11 (launched at $329.99). A sharp 276 PPI screen with Kindle mode and Google Play.
- Easiest on the eyes: an E Ink tablet like the Boox Go Color 7, or simply a Kindle if you only read books.
What makes a tablet good for reading
Almost any tablet can open a book. The ones that are pleasant for an hour or more of reading get five things right.
1. Sharp text
Pixel density (PPI) decides how crisp small text looks. Every current Kindle E Ink screen runs at 300 PPI, which is a useful benchmark. Tablets around 260 to 330 PPI look clean at normal reading distance. Below about 200 PPI, letters start to look soft, which you notice more in long reading sessions than in video.
2. Less glare
Glossy glass reflects windows and lamps, which makes you squint or turn up the brightness. Look for an anti-glare or antireflective screen: the Alexa Tablet 12 Pro’s optional Nanomatte finish, the iPad mini’s antireflective coating or the anti-reflection layer on Samsung’s Galaxy Tab S11 Ultra. E Ink screens don’t have this problem at all.
3. Weight
Reading means holding the tablet up for a long time. The iPad mini (293 g) and Alexa Tablet 8 (329 g) are comfortable in one hand. Most 11 to 12-inch tablets weigh 450 to 550 g and work better propped on a lap, a pillow or a stand.
4. Screen shape
A taller screen fits pages better. The Alexa Tablet 12 Pro’s 3:2 screen and the iPad’s roughly 3:2 shape are closer to a printed page or a PDF. The 16:10 screens on the Alexa Tablet 11 and most Samsung tablets are narrower and better for video, so a full PDF page shows up smaller.
5. Reading software
Check that the stores and apps you use run on the tablet. The new Alexa Tablets have Kindle built in and the full Google Play Store, so Libby, Kobo and other reading apps install normally, something the old Fire tablets couldn’t do without workarounds. iPads run Kindle, Libby and Kobo from the App Store.
Reading tablets compared
Specs come from each manufacturer’s published specifications. Prices are list prices at launch (or the maker’s current list price where noted), not today’s Amazon price, which changes often.
| Tablet | Screen | Sharpness | Glare control | Weight | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alexa Tablet 12 Pro (Nanomatte) | 11.95″ LCD, 3:2, 120Hz | 280 PPI | Nanomatte anti-glare | About 550 g | $549.99 at launch (Oct 2026) |
| Apple iPad mini (A17 Pro) | 8.3″ LCD | 326 PPI | Antireflective coating | 293 g | $499 at launch (Oct 2024); $599 at Apple since June 2026 |
| Alexa Tablet 11 | 11″ LCD, 16:10, 90Hz | 276 PPI | None | Not stated by Amazon | $329.99 at launch (Oct 2026) |
| Boox Go Color 7 (Gen II) | 7″ color E Ink | 300 PPI (150 in color) | E Ink, no glare | 195 g | $269.99 list at Boox (Oct 2026) |
| Boox Note Air5 C | 10.3″ color E Ink | 300 PPI (150 in color) | E Ink, no glare | About 435 g | $499.99 list at Boox (Oct 2026) |
| Samsung Galaxy Tab S11 Ultra | 14.6″ AMOLED, 120Hz | About 239 PPI | Anti-reflection layer | 694 g (1.53 lb) | $1,199.99 at launch (Sept 2025) |
| Apple iPad (A16) | 10.86″ LCD | 264 PPI | None listed | 477 g | $349 at launch (Mar 2025); $449 at Apple since June 2026 |
| Alexa Tablet 8 | 8.7″ LCD, 60Hz | 180 PPI | None | 329 g | $229.99 at launch (Oct 2026) |
| Kindle Paperwhite (2026) | 7″ E Ink | 300 PPI (Kindle E Ink line) | E Ink, no glare | Not stated | $199.99 at launch (Oct 2026) |
Scroll sideways to see every column.
PPI for the Galaxy Tab S11 Ultra is our calculation from Samsung’s published resolution and screen size. The 12 Pro’s weight is from launch coverage; Amazon hasn’t published one.
Our picks
Amazon Alexa Tablet 12 Pro (Nanomatte)
For: people who read every day and want one tablet for novels, PDFs, comics and magazines, especially near windows or outdoors.
11.95″ 2800 × 1840, 3:2, 280 PPI, 120Hz · Nanomatte anti-glare · Kindle mode · Android 16 with Google Play · launched at $549.99 (standard screen $499.99)
Pros
- Anti-glare Nanomatte screen, made with Corning
- Tall 3:2 page fits PDFs and comics
- Kindle mode plus Google Play for Libby and Kobo
Cons
- About 550 g, too heavy for long one-handed reading
- New: ships October 14, so no full reviews yet
Amazon built a reading mode into all three Alexa Tablets. Opening Kindle silences notifications and offers natural-with-warmth, paper-tone and grayscale themes, and Amazon quotes up to 20 hours of reading per charge (it doesn’t say which model). On the 12 Pro you also get the taller 3:2 shape and the only anti-glare option in the range. We’ll update this pick when hands-on reviews are out. Full details are in our Alexa Tablet 12 Pro guide.
Apple iPad mini (A17 Pro)
For: novels, news and reading in bed. The smallest, lightest full tablet with the sharpest text here.
8.3″ 2266 × 1488, 326 PPI · antireflective coating · 293 g · up to 10 hours · launched at $499 (Oct 2024), $599 at Apple since June 2026
Pros
- Sharpest text in this guide (326 PPI)
- Light enough to hold in one hand for hours
- Antireflective, fully laminated screen
Cons
- Apple raised the price $100 in June 2026
- Small for full PDF pages; a new model is rumored but not announced
Amazon Alexa Tablet 11
For: readers on a budget who want a sharp screen, Kindle mode and Google Play for less than most rivals.
11″ 2560 × 1600, 276 PPI, 90Hz · 16:10 · Kindle mode · Android 16 with Google Play · up to 15 hours of video · launched at $329.99
Pros
- Text nearly as sharp as the 12 Pro (276 vs 280 PPI)
- Kindle mode and Google Play at a mid-range price
- Sharper than Samsung’s Galaxy Tab A11+ (about 206 PPI)
Cons
- No anti-glare option
- Narrower 16:10 shape shows PDF pages smaller
Boox Go Color 7 (Gen II)
For: people who want the comfort of an e-reader but with Google Play, so Kindle, Libby and Kobo all live on one device.
7″ color E Ink (Kaleido 3), 300 PPI black and white / 150 PPI color · warm and cold front light · page-turn buttons · 195 g · Android 13 with Google Play · $269.99 list at Boox
Pros
- Paper-like E Ink screen with no glare
- Physical page-turn buttons
- Runs the Kindle, Libby and Kobo apps side by side
Cons
- Color is muted and half the resolution of black and white
- E Ink is too slow for video or games
Boox Note Air5 C
For: students and professionals who read and mark up long PDFs and want to avoid a backlit screen.
10.3″ color E Ink (Kaleido 3), 300 PPI black and white / 150 PPI color · pen included · warm and cold front light · about 435 g · Android 15 with Google Play · $499.99 list at Boox
Pros
- Large E Ink page for PDFs and textbooks
- Pen included for notes and highlights
- Google Play for any reading app
Cons
- Costs as much as the Alexa Tablet 12 Pro
- Slow screen refresh compared with an LCD tablet
Samsung Galaxy Tab S11 Ultra
For: comic, magazine and two-page PDF readers who want a huge screen and true-black dark mode for reading at night.
14.6″ 2960 × 1848 AMOLED, 120Hz · anti-reflection · S Pen included · up to 23 hours of video · 694 g · launched at $1,199.99 (Sept 2025)
Pros
- Huge anti-reflective screen fits two pages side by side
- OLED blacks for dark-mode reading
- Longest rated battery here
Cons
- Heavy and expensive
- Lower pixel density (about 239 PPI) than smaller tablets
Do you need a tablet at all?
If you mostly read novels, probably not. A Kindle e-reader uses an E Ink screen that reflects light like paper, has no glare in sunlight and lasts weeks per charge instead of hours. Amazon refreshed the lineup on October 1, 2026: the Kindle Paperwhite launched at $199.99 with a 7-inch screen, adjustable warm light, waterproofing and up to 12 weeks of battery, and the color Kindle Colorsoft launched at $289.99. See the 2026 Kindle Paperwhite on Amazon (opens Amazon in a new tab).
Get a tablet instead if you read in color (comics, manga, magazines, cookbooks, textbooks with diagrams), read lots of PDFs, or want one device for reading, video and apps.
Eye strain and night reading: what the research says
- E Ink vs LCD: a small 2013 study in PLoS ONE found readers showed more signs of visual fatigue on an LCD tablet than on an E Ink Kindle, which performed about the same as paper. It only had 12 participants, so treat it as a hint, not proof.
- Blue light: the American Academy of Ophthalmology says there is no scientific evidence that blue light from devices damages your eyes. Digital eye strain mostly comes from blinking less while you stare at a screen, so take breaks.
- Sleep: a 2015 study published in PNAS found that people who read on a light-emitting e-reader before bed took about 10 minutes longer to fall asleep and were less alert the next morning than when they read a printed book. If you read in bed, use a warm night setting, lower the brightness or use an E Ink device.
What to skip for heavy reading
- Alexa Tablet 8: great price ($229.99 at launch) and light, but at 180 PPI text looks noticeably softer than on the 11 or 12 Pro. Fine for kids’ books and casual reading.
- Base iPad (A16): a good tablet, but Apple lists no antireflective coating and its price rose to $449. The iPad mini is the better Apple reading tablet.
- Samsung Galaxy Tab A11+: about 206 PPI for a similar price to the sharper Alexa Tablet 11.
The verdict
If you read every day and want one tablet for everything, get the Alexa Tablet 12 Pro with Nanomatte: it’s the only tablet here that combines a big 3:2 page, an anti-glare screen and a built-in reading mode at a mid-range price. If you read in bed or on the go, the iPad mini is lighter and sharper. If budget comes first, the Alexa Tablet 11 is the best value. And if you only read novels, a Kindle Paperwhite will be easier on your eyes and your battery than any tablet. Comparing Amazon’s three models? See 12 Pro vs 11 vs 8.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best tablet for reading?
For books, PDFs and comics, the Alexa Tablet 12 Pro with the Nanomatte anti-glare screen (launched at $549.99 in October 2026) has the best mix of a large 3:2 page, anti-glare glass and Kindle mode. For one-handed reading, the iPad mini has the sharpest text (326 PPI) and weighs 293 g. On a budget, the Alexa Tablet 11 (launched at $329.99) has a sharp 276 PPI screen.
Is a tablet or a Kindle better for reading?
If you mostly read novels, a Kindle e-reader is lighter, lasts weeks per charge and uses an E Ink screen with no glare. A tablet is better for color: comics, magazines, cookbooks and PDFs with charts, and it also runs video and apps.
Can you read Kindle books on the Alexa Tablets?
Yes. All three Alexa Tablets (12 Pro, 11 and 8) have Kindle built in, plus a Kindle mode that silences notifications and offers warm, paper-tone and grayscale reading themes.
Can I borrow library books on an Alexa Tablet?
The Alexa Tablets run Android 16 with the full Google Play Store, unlike the old Fire tablets, so you can install library and bookstore apps such as Libby and Kobo from Google Play.
Are tablets bad for your eyes when reading?
The American Academy of Ophthalmology says there is no scientific evidence that blue light from devices damages your eyes; eye strain mostly comes from blinking less while staring at a screen. Bright screens late at night can delay sleep, so use a night or warm-light setting in the evening.
What size tablet is best for reading?
About 7 to 8.5 inches is best for novels and one-handed reading. For PDFs, textbooks, comics and magazines, an 11 to 13-inch screen shows a full page at a readable size.
Sources
This guide is based on manufacturer specifications, launch coverage and published research. We have not tested these devices ourselves. Specs and prices were checked on October 12, 2026; check Amazon for today’s price.
- About Amazon: “Amazon’s new Alexa Tablets” announcement, including Kindle mode (Oct 8, 2026) (opens in a new tab)
- Amazon Developer: Alexa Tablet 12 Pro device specifications (opens in a new tab)
- Amazon Developer: Alexa Tablet 11 device specifications (opens in a new tab)
- Amazon Developer: Alexa Tablet 8 device specifications (opens in a new tab)
- TechCrunch: Amazon unveils new Alexa Tablets with Google Play Store access (Oct 8, 2026) (opens in a new tab)
- Apple: iPad mini (A17 Pro) technical specifications (opens in a new tab)
- Apple: iPad (A16) technical specifications (opens in a new tab)
- Apple Store: iPad mini pricing (checked Oct 12, 2026) (opens in a new tab)
- Samsung Newsroom: Galaxy Tab S11 series specifications (opens in a new tab)
- Samsung: Galaxy Tab A11+ specifications (opens in a new tab)
- Boox: Go Color 7 (Gen II) product page (opens in a new tab)
- Boox: Note Air5 C product page (opens in a new tab)
- About Amazon: the 2026 Kindle lineup (Oct 1, 2026) (opens in a new tab)
- TechRepublic: Kindle Paperwhite vs Colorsoft (2026) (opens in a new tab)
- Benedetto et al., PLoS ONE (2013): E Ink vs LCD vs paper and visual fatigue (opens in a new tab)
- American Academy of Ophthalmology: Should you be worried about blue light? (opens in a new tab)
- Penn State: light-emitting e-readers and sleep (Chang et al., PNAS 2015) (opens in a new tab)